Toposurface... err, but what about a rock'o'surface

For Revit users

Moderators: Tim Waldock, monumentum, Toby Maple

Toposurface... err, but what about a rock'o'surface

Postby john hainsworth » 09 Jan 2007, 13:11

Hi Guys - happy new year to you all & a tester for you lateral thinkers...

Any thoughts how I might create different strata layers using (ideally) topo tools...

I'm trying to model 1) an existing topo surface, 2) a proposed surface (and found these easy), but I'd also like to set 3) a rock head profile beneath.

I have thrashed around with graded regions (and so phases), pads etc (why do thes ahcve to flat bottomed??) but can't get cut patterns to distinguish the differing materials (oh, and the poche depth setting is not helpfull for me here)...some success, but and I'm pretty concened that the resulting phase filters might get cumbersome later on the real job.

I've also tried doing the rock profile in a separate model, exporting to dwg, reading into a generic family and then to the model - all ok but no depth to rock head when I cut in section - hmm, but I'm now wondering if 'curtain system by face may help - I'll keep you posted - but any thoughts would be greatly appreciated..

cheers
J
User avatar
john hainsworth
RUGs Secretary
RUGs Secretary
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 01 May 2006, 09:28
Location: Sydney

NOT Topo

Postby simonwhnz » 30 Jan 2007, 12:09

Hi John,

Been thinking about this and came up with a sort of workaround. Did all of this in Revit so the strata is only on one plane. It could be modelled more fully in AutoCAD / Anything else.

Basically, I created an in-place site family. As you can see from the image, I then created some additional Subcategories which allow for material by category AND visibility control. No pad, just a void to cut the 'topo' and then place a floor where needed. The driveway is an in-place floor.

If you really wanted, a real topo could be draped over the top.

Regards


Simon
Attachments
SubCats.jpg
Added Subcategories for visibility control
SubCats.jpg (77.39 KiB) Viewed 5903 times
FakingTopo.jpg
3D view
FakingTopo.jpg (64.66 KiB) Viewed 5903 times
Simon Whitbread
Revit Specialist
Beca
User avatar
simonwhnz
Moderator
 
Posts: 30
Joined: 01 May 2006, 06:33
Location: Auckland
When did you start to use Revit?: v4.5 2002

Postby john hainsworth » 30 Jan 2007, 12:34

Nice one Simon
I was coming to a similar conclusion, but stopped mid way and bounced onto other things
I like your approach - it looks just what I need and I'll give it go now on the real job - good to know its been 'guru tested' :wink:
cheers
John

btw - a stunning image !
User avatar
john hainsworth
RUGs Secretary
RUGs Secretary
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 01 May 2006, 09:28
Location: Sydney

Re: Toposurface... err, but what about a rock'o'surface

Postby mattp » 24 Jul 2009, 02:50

Hi Simon,

Good workaround. The existing revit tools for topography are limiting if you need to show several surfaces. Any chance you could send me a copy of the revit file you created the multi-layer in-place site family in? I am trying to do a similar thing and it would be good to interrogate your model...

thanks
mattp
mattp
 


Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron